Thoughts On Being Quiet

I often get comments about how quiet I am. And they’re usually followed by that “It’s always the quiet ones you have to look out for” comment. I find that enjoyable, it creates this whole fun persona for me that I don’t have to put any effort into! It makes me feel rebellious!

I’m quiet a lot of times, I don’t know why, I just really can’t think of anything to say most of the time and the rest of the time, I don’t want to say much. And it’s fine to be a quiet person!

Social situations aren’t for everyone, I’m really fortunate that my job doesn’t involve much talking, it just involves programming, and I love it! I’m not big on the whole party and gathering around the lunch table thing. I’m more comfortable eating lunch at my desk. Those things just don’t seem fun to me (sometimes I will join in social things, sometimes). And I find parties boring for the most part. Unless there’s a cat there, or something I can do like drawing! But I am known to enjoy social gatherings from time to time (as stated above 🙂 )

I’m just not a social person. Actually, in highschool, my typical Friday night/weekends involved playing guitar and building stuff. Now that’s a party! I’d rather create something and spend time with my better than amazing girlfriend! She’s all the socializing I need! (And she paints with me too)

And you know what, there’s nothing wrong with not wanting to socialize. Just as there is nothing wrong with wanting to socialize. I think people just get confused because they like one or the other and you like the opposite. And people like to relate to others so if they can’t relate, they don’t know what to do. I know I’m guilty of this a lot!

I believe that being who you are is the best thing you can do. Unless who you are involves hurting others or harming some environment, then there’s some concern involved (differing degrees of concern depending on the amount)…

And, the most important thing, is that being who you are is great (again, unless it involves hurting others), and owning who you are as your identity is amazing!

Oh, and just because you’re quiet sometimes doesn’t mean you’re not quiet all the time! The same goes for being social. People are dynamic, we shift from one thing to another thing all the time. And that’s spectacular!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

