Indecision

“I’d like to place an order”
“What’ll it be?” The man behind the counter had a rough voice and a rougher exterior.
“Umm…” I was lost, the menu was really big and I needed to make a decision yesterday.

Seconds passed…

“There are people waiting impatiently behind me” I noticed the mob getting angrier.

“I’ll have, wait… I don’t like ketchup. Umm…” The man behind the counter had a look of pure evil on his face.

“Order already damn it”…
“Get outta line, I’m starvin'”…
“Yeah, go home idiot!”…
The mass behind me might as well have had pitchforks because they were about to kill me.

“Argh!” I thought to myself, all of this anger was making it harder for me to concentrate.

And then,

A smack…

I was hit over the head with a blunt object. Someone behind me had had enough of my indecision. They had ripped a table leg off of the only table in the little deli and used it to teach me a lesson. Who was I to stop them from getting food? Who was I to hold them up from their busy life?

I awoke several hours later to find the deli empty. Everyone was gone, except for the man behind the counter.
His hand stretched out to help me up.

“Sorry I couldn’t make up my mind. There’s a lot on the menu and the other customers were making it hard for me to concentrate”. I apologized to the man, I felt like I needed to do that.

“You’re fine, I’m not upset. I’m sorry the other’s attacked you”. He seemed kind. I hadn’t thought he would be the kind type of person.

He walked over to the refrigerator and asked me if I wanted a soda. There was Dr. Pepper there so, of course, I opted for that.

“I’d take a Dr. Pepper”. I said sheepishly.
The man handed me the soda.
“It’s on the house.”

That Dr. Pepper tasted amazing!

Leave a Reply

