Collecting Noises

I am very interested in noise. It’s something that we hear everyday and a lot of it gets ignored. The amount of distinct sounds just in the little city I live in is immense. The cars, the sewers, the birds and the streams. There is an abundance of noise, both joyful and unpleasant (I prefer the ‘unpleasant’ sounds although they sound pleasing to me 🙂 ).

I’ve had this idea for a while to go on a series of expeditions to ‘hunt’ & collect sounds. Today, I started out my journey in the forest behind my apartment building. There was this spot where there were frogs croaking and it was so loud, you could hardly hear the noise coming from the High School (the school was having some festival and it was really loud).

I was surrounded by this sound. It was in this little swamp. I just stood there and absorbed it. I’ve never had an aural experience like that before, it was just amazing. To be so engulfed by a sound (one that’s not of a song or someone singing) is a rare occurrence.

Moved by this orchestra, I raced back to the apartment and got my mobile recording studio (it’s a 8-track recorder). I ran back to the swamp and started recording. And I just moved on from there. There’s a train track right next to that and some rushing water. Of course, I got some sounds of cars speeding past me. My only regret is that I used some effects like delay, reverb and phasing on some of the tracks. But there’s always next time.

A noise safari!

Take Care and enjoy yourselves!
-Aaron Horeth (A North Hare)

Leave a Reply

