Tough Decision

I was faced with a difficult decision today. Get the 20 oz bottle of Dr. Pepper or the 16 oz can of Dr. Pepper. I love Dr. Pepper.

So here is some data to give you a good perspective to my predicament.

The Pros of the 20 oz bottle:

  • Re-closable
  • I like the shape
  • More Dr.Pepper than the 16 oz can
  • It’s more expensive than the 16 oz can

The Cons of the 20 oz bottle:

  • I hate the taste of soda from a plastic bottle
    (NOTE: This is a huge factor worth considering)

The Pros of the 16 oz can:

  • It’s in a can. Soda tastes better in a can than it does in a bottle.
    (NOTE: This is a huge factor worth considering)
  • It’s cheaper than the 20 oz bottle

The Cons of the 16 oz can:

  • It has 4 fewer ounces than the 20 oz bottle
  • It’s not re-closable

Now, I wanted to see how much I was paying per ounce. I figured that I was paying about $0.061 per ounce for the 16 oz can and about $0.094 per ounce for the 20 oz bottle.

I determined that the can was the best choice. Besides, I like the number 16 more than 20 because it’s got a 6 in it and I feel connected to the number 6.

So I got the 16 oz can.

And, when I got to work, I spilled some of it on me and my co-worker harassed me (which is funny because he’s a goofy guy). Would that have happened with the 20 oz bottle? No, it would not have happened with the 20 oz bottle. Why? Because it’s re-closable.

Leave a Reply

