New Photography Project

This is a piece I am working on. I had this photo that I took of one of my favorite places (Green Lakes State Park) and I wanted to experiment with it. What I did initially was split the photo into 3 segments (and created layers for each segment). I used Paint.NET for the image manipulations. Paint.NET is a very basic editor, not anywhere near as sophisticated as Photoshop. But I chose to use it for its simplicity and price.

Each of these pieces shows a part of the original image, obscured with a color, and a large block (or blocks for the center one) of color. The color space is used to show that there is more to the image than just the segment provided in the piece. For each piece, there are two other parts that are missing (from the original photo). I wanted to use bright, solid colors to give an otherwise natural photograph (it’s an image of a tree) an artificial and over-celebrated look. The solid colors provide a stark contrast to the nature of the segment highlighted in each piece.

Thank you for viewing!

-Aaron Horeth

Original image:
DSCN4486

Leave a Reply

