As I Sit Here

Dearest love, best friend and partner for life Kimberly:

As I sit here,
in the lucid loneliness of the graveyard shift.

Slaving tirelessly over a keyboard in a cold office
as if it were a hot stove and I were cooking pancakes.

I feel a longing for that feeling of home
that being beside you brings me, brings us.

As I sit here,
fervently studying the opcodes of the 8080.

My mind cannot focus on programming, I miss you.
I miss your familiarity and texture.

Although we’re only 45 minutes apart tonight,
it feels like hours.

Yours truly,
Aaron

One thought on “As I Sit Here

Leave a Reply

